A Midwinter’s Chill: Apparat, Bluetech, Deru, Marty Party, Heyoka & Nanda (REVIEW)

The Sea of Dreams party ignited my idea to go to San Francisco for the New Year’s Eve weekend, but what sealed the deal was the show put on by an-ten-nae the following night, A Midwinter’s Chill.

I was drawn in by the eclectic lineup packed with heavy talent, a well-designed evening of artists bringing a myriad of styles and genres to the stage. It was set to be the perfect exhale for the wild night before, and when I walked into the venue Friday night I did just that. Although I love the all-out massives, I really love smaller and more intimate festivities where it is easier to talk to people, from the bartender to the DJ to the promoter to new friends in the crowd.

Sliding in around 11PM I missed almost all of Nanda‘s set; judging from the songs on his Myspace page, this was a mistake. Luckily up next was Deru, whose sets seem to get better each time I hear him, always casting out juicy tracks so lush they are almost lurid.

The details of the venue itself faded into the background against a swirl of revelers, heady from holiday celebrations, myself included. A couple of new friends had decided to hit the party with Android Bishop and I after hearing the music I was playing back at the house- I truly believe that the only reason that people don’t listen to the music I do is because they haven’t heard it yet. Running into a few homies from LA as well, I romped around the party with random friends at three stages of music- a swell deal for the $20 door cover.

Outside Dance Floor

The hot and sweaty side room was pulsing with the sounds of Laura and Shawna who had both played Sea of Dreams the night before, and even better was the outside smoking area presided over by a giant bus pumping out slap-happy dubstep. The heat lamps weren’t even needed as the crowd was bumping and hopping. I don’t know who the DJs were and I meant to climb into the bus where people were dancing and find out, but I kept getting pulled back to the main stage.

I enjoyed Bluetech‘s music more than ever before; sometimes his sets can be bit too downtempo for my hyperactive self, but this one seemed to hit exactly the right pace and smooth over any ridges in the night, working the dance floor into a warm lather.

Apparat's Hands

Next up was Apparat, revving the party up a notch with a firey blend of technoish beats that seemed orchestral they were so encompassing and riveting. And riveted I was; it was one of those nights where I hardly even hit the bar or the bathroom, I was bound to the dance floor, my home.

Marty Party was the much-welcomed surprise guest, further upping the ante with trip-smacking tunes and a stage presence that made me smile as much as his beats made me groove. He is fun to watch, especially from the stage which is where I found myself for much of the night, hiding out behind the speakers for the best view in the house.

AND SHILO

Bringing down the night was another favorite of mine- Heyoka, whose grinding, chunky tunes seem to twist the bass into new animals that run off across the dance floor, contorting every body they encounter into slobbering spasms. I didn’t get to stay for his whole set as my ride was seriously about to drive off without me- but I walked out into the morning absolutely blissful from two incredible nights of dancing and music. Setting the tone for the days to come, there is no better place to start a new year and a new decade than the dance floor.

Much love and mad props to an-ten-nae; I have enjoyed his music for quite a while but have only recently experienced his prowess as an event producer. Also quite the character, this guy is at the top of my book! I would love to hear a little more of Muti Music‘s crunchy style down in SoCal, and with Mimosa now living in LA it is only a matter of time before it happens.

There is a collision of cataclysmic proportions going on right now between hip hop and electronic music; two continents of style crashing together to create an epic mountain range. Each peak is a different new sound, and we are living smack in the middle of the mountains. Hope you’ve got your climbing gear on.

First the West Coast, and then the world.

And one last time, happy 2010. Let’s do this shit.

One Response to “A Midwinter’s Chill: Apparat, Bluetech, Deru, Marty Party, Heyoka & Nanda (REVIEW)”

  1. TrilliumGreene Says:

    Thanks for this…it basically summarizes my experience for those two nights, as well. We are crazy-fortunate to be living at this time, with this music–alive on the dance floor like nowhere else.

Leave a Reply

