SO SCREW IT: I’m (Dub)stepping Out

Yes that is the title given to my piece on UK dubstep for the “British Sessions Part I” issue of Covers Magazine. I am not 100% happy with the edits made (a lot of coke in the Thames WTF?), but it is meant to be an intro piece for people who have never heard of dubstep before.

Read it here.

2 Responses to “SO SCREW IT: I’m (Dub)stepping Out”

  1. “This is not music for listening to in headphones while you lay on your bed. It is party music…”

    I thought that line was interesting. What dubstep is now notwithstanding, it originally was in part a reaction to the crazy hype party music that’s pushed it into the mainstream. In 2005 dubstep was perfect for a dimly lit room and some good headphones (unless you had the subs on standby of course) but really the roots of the sound has been lost on a sea of people who are just hearing it for the first time.

    I’m stoked that the sound has gotten as big as it has but at the same time lament for what a lot of it has become.

    • dancefever5000 Says:

      Yeah I guess what I meant by that is that dubstep is extremely sound system dependent, and the average person does not have quality sound at home, and in that way dubstep as a genre promotes community engagement more than other genres where they sound just as good on crap speakers.

      I guess headphones would work, but I still prefer my wobble on a Funktion One.

      And you are right, the more hyped-up bangers à la Rusko have kind of taken over dubstep and now that sound represents the genre to many people.

      Thanks so much for reading and for your comment. Indeed it will be really interesting to see where dubstep goes from here.

Leave a Reply

