Happy Birthday Flying Lotus!

Happy birthday to not only one of the most amazing producers and creative musical minds in the world, but also a damn nice guy as well: Steven Ellison aka Flying Lotus.

THE SHITWhen I first moved to LA in January I had very few friends, but for some strange reason one of them was Flying Lotus. My first week here Steve invited me to his show and put me on the list, making me feel very warm and welcome in a city that is not quite synonymous with ‘warm and welcoming.’ I love to run into him ghosting around the back of various venues in town, always wearing the same kind smile you see him perform in. I routinely walk off his dance floor a better dancer with a more evolved musical mind, and it was through Flying Lotus’ music that I finally ‘got’ jazz.

Happy Birthday FlyLo! We will celebrate tonight- and I think you guys can figure out where!

Photo by Alex Rapada.

Leave a Reply

