Decibel Festival 2008: A Review, A Reawakening Part 1 of 5

Last year in between four straight days of partying and boarding a Tuesday morning flight to Thailand, I somehow wrote a review of the epic, amazing time I had at Seattle’s Decibel Festival.

A party like no other, Decibel is a city festival held in the clubs, bars, parks and museums of Seattle, an event for the people, by the people. I will be reposting my review from last year along with photos and links, in five parts: Intro, Day 1, Day 2….you get it.

Decibel Festival 2009 takes place September 24-27 and you can check the lineup and buy tickets here.

INTRO:

WOW, WOW, WOW. What a weekend. What a swirling mess of art, what an epic adventure in electronica, what a bad-ass dance festival, what an fantastic experience to have shared with friends. I had one of the best weekends of my life, and yall know I have a hell of a lot of great weekends.

edIT & Boreta rock dB in the Park

edIT & Boreta rock dB in the Park

Seattle has just been injected with a reinvigorating shot of electronic adrenaline. I keep hearing the word “inspired” roll off the tongues of the many friends who came out. DJs are talking about taking their art in new directions and dancers got their groove back. All the local performers that I saw really threw down, bringing up their game and refusing to have anything but a killer time. The visiting artists I have spoken with since this weekend had a blast in our city as well and loved the Seattle crowds that showed up; it was really

Tricia Rocks the Dance Floor

Tricia Rocks the Dance Floor

neat for me to see all the different performers out and about checking out other artists and their work. The sound everywhere was excellent (why can’t we have this all the time?) and I discovered new music from around the world as well as from locals which has changed the way I see the world, as good art should. Score.

And I TOLD YOU dB in the Park with the Glitch Mob was going to be insane- and the freaks and robots definitely showed up! Thank you my friends!

Hanging out with Jahcoozi @ Neumos' Green Room

Hanging out with Jahcoozi @ Neumos' Green Room

It seems like I should be tired or hungover or something, but right now I feel refreshed, rejuvenated, and ready to go. Which is a good thing, since I leave for Thailand tomorrow morning- but before I leave, I want to share with you my impressions and adventures of the past weekend. I made it to nineteen showcases, one conference, and three unofficial afterhours, two official afterhours, hung out with Jahcoozi until 8AM, had fun messing around with Deadmau5’s head, ate crab wontons with edIT and Boreta, and I am still standing. And glowing. And ready for next year.

***to be continued! Stay tuned here for my review of Decibel Festival 2008 Days 1-4!***

Leave a Reply

