Tipper, RD & Jupit3r @ Echoplex

I know I talk a lot of superlatives but overall, Saturday night at the Echoplex was the best night of music in total that I have experienced my four months in LA. Space Island brought it and straight hippied up that dirty low club and the dance floor was packed as hell all night long until they flipped the lights up near 2AM and we all crawled home.

The Echoplex is right down the street from my place; I arrived early enough and Jupit3r was up and already taking no prisoners. Shilo has a new favorite. The crowd was super sonic; I want to harness the energy of these people and create a separate solar system. Oh wait- I guess that would be Space Island. 

For those of you not in sunny and shaky LA (today’s earthquake shut down Disneyland), the Echoplex is the bottom level of the Echo, a nicer, more well-lit theateresque venue. I like the Echoplex much better and you probably would too. Dark, a little dingy, but $5 drinks and plenty of room for moving.

The sound in the Echoplex is good and Friday night it was even better; Space Island totally decked out the venue with purple netting over the outdoor smoke-anything section and the compact stage filled with growing orange and yellow worm-like twists of stuff reaching up to the rafters from the stage. Mmm-hmm.

Jupit3r and RD were both on point; in fact the music all night was top notch from start to finish. Tipper played tons of old stuff that we love and heaps of new stuff that we do now and gave a very high energy performance. The dance floor was going off. It was epic, and I wish you could have been there.

No photos for this shit review, sorry guys. If I see some online I will post a link!

Leave a Reply

