Dubtroit, Glitch Mob & Droid Behavior last week in LA

Not all at once!

Hey so I have been snoozing on my reviews, spending too much time writing for money and stupid shit like that, my bad.

Ah who am I kidding, I’ve been partying all week and weekend long in LA. Epic good times, so here ya go: one dubstep night, one glitchy fever fest, and one techno extravaganza. BECAUSE I ONLY LIKE PSYTRANCE.

 

  • DUBTROIT in OC on 4/28: Stenchman, Emalkay, Seven and Unit

I drove about an hour to get to the venue, Detroit Bar, which was in a strip mall in Costa Mesa. For those of you not in LA, neither is that. I had some friends coming up from San Diego and I figured if they could haul their asses all the way to the OC, so could I.

MASTER decision. What looked on the exterior to be a freaky slice of American death culture in strip mall form turned out to be a sweet little club. No cover for early bird club nerds like me (until you needed to go to your car for drinks and smokes, ahem), a cute dance floor under the raised DJ booth, and decent sound for sure.

My only disappointment for the night was the fact that 12th Planet didn’t play although he was on the lineup; but Seven and Emalkay were pleasingly sticky-dirty. The latter did NOT beat mothafuckas, for the record.

Stenchman owned the night with his closing set, performing in a freak-ass mask that is straight outta Batman Begins or some shit. Although he is from the UK, his set was not as heavily saturated with that signature druggy bass. Some dubstep soaks up the overcast, rainy climates where it is produced and takes on a more ominous, somber tone which tends to make me feel drunker than I am with its droning pull towards the ground.

Stenchman gave danceable dubstep, and I loved it. Dubtroit at Detroit Bar is definitely worth the hour drive (thank you Smog!) and I will be returning fo sho. Check out pictures of the show here.

 

  • GLITCH MOB w DJ AM on 4/30 @ La Cita in downtown LA

Another free show, another beautiful night in LA. Again this poor freelancer arrived early to avoid the super expensive $5 cover; the opening DJ was laying down straight fucking disco under a sign that said “THESE DEEJAYS DON’T TAKE REQUESTS.” 

So of course I walked up to the decks and screamed, “CAN YOU PLAY SOME R KELLY?” over the throbbing dance beats. GOD I love the look that line gets me! He did have some R Kelly but thankfully was able to tell that I was joking. What can I say? I’m a flirt.

La Cita is a deep and skinny club, with a long bar and a fat outside area with a boxing-ring type dance floor in the middle, surrounded by tables. Almost all of the people I talked to had no idea who the hell the Glitch Mob was. “Four DJs all at once?”

Anyway it seemed like hours- no wait, it WAS hours before the Glitch Mob came on; I wandered around talking to strangers and spilling beer and dancing with the mad crowd out on the floor going a little nuts to DJ AM who was laying down thick waves of house music; the freaks were lapping it up and ripping down signs and shit.

Now, as much as I love house music which is more than most of you reading this, I was hella stoked to see edIT and Boreta and OOah and Kraddy walk in. Their laptops were set up on what I thought was a buffet line. A buffet of bass. Pile it on.

Anyone not in the LA area who doesn’t get to see the Glitch Mob on a regular basis has no idea what sweet ass new tunes they are missing. The boys played West Coast Rocks and Bubblin’ in the Cut but they also laid hella new tracks down, ah yes.

Things were stupid sweaty up on the front of the floor with tons of crazy chicks being all pushy-shovey; I have just accepted the fact that when I see the Glitch Mob (in LA, anyway) that shit will be jam packed with little room to actually dance. I COULD move to the back of the dance floor, but then would I be able to read the buttons on edIT’s Lemur that say: “SHRED, SMEAR, SLAY, and MANGLE?” No, no I would not.

SO YEAH super fatty set once again from the Glitch Mob. Put some of those new tracks out guys, or some live mixes. The people want it! DO IT! 

 

  • DROID BEHAVIOR Interface 27  on May 2 w/Dean Paul, Miro Pajic, Alex Delano, Tony Rohr, Audio Injection vs. Drumcell, & Clint Stewart.

OH BUT THE VERY BEST party of the week was without a doubt Droid Behavior on Saturday night in random warehouse location #487 with a Funktion One sound system. I arrived around 1AM after getting lost as shit (it’s on the waiver) and was so excited I was about to jump out of the top of my head.

This the kind of techno party you dream about, the night that other parties want to be, the energy that producers all over the world wish they could achieve. This is why people are jealous of LA; booming techno for giant room of dancing freaks and friends all night long.

All night, until I wandered outside around 630 AM and had the whole, “OH SHIT IT’S DAYLIGHT!” revelation. Tight visuals as well, except towards the end when they just changed it to these static pinstriped squares which was kind of weird- I would prefer pitch black. Check out a video from Saturday night here, or check out the Interface 27 photo stream on Flickr here.

I don’t know when or where the next Droid Behavior party will be, but I will be there for sure. I kind of just want to follow the Funktion One system around the LA area and dance to whatever is coming out. 

SO THERE YOU HAVE IT! Dubstep, Disco, House, Glitch Hop, and Techno and one happy Shilo. Which looks like this:

partyonwaynepartyongarth

2 Responses to “Dubtroit, Glitch Mob & Droid Behavior last week in LA”

  1. Cathal O'Rourke Says:

    I have now defined for myself a whole new level of jealousy…. 😉

    Well done for surviving that weekend !

  2. Skandar Says:

    TechYes!

Leave a Reply

