My Favorite Mix of the Month: S.P.E.C.T.R.E.

In case you didn’t notice, S.P.E.C.T.R.E. out of the Denver bass-slut side of things left a link to a fatty Beatport mix in a comment here on my blog a couple of days ago; I actually picked it up off a Myspace bulletin last week and have had it in high rotation ever since. 

His mix is fucking DOPE and my new favorite of the month- and I listen to a ridiculous amount of new music. S.P.E.C.T.R.E. gives us a seamless and inspiring blend of genres, impossible to label even for someone like me who makes up words like she makes banana pancakes (frequently and with elation).

S.P.E.C.T.R.E. throws us everything from a killer version of “Day N Night” to the Notorious B.I.G. to Janis Fucking Joplin and I have been rocking it all week long. The mix is dubsteppy but hits hard (dubstep with balls), delivers a satisfying dose of hip hop, a motivating injection of rock, and I absolutely LOVE the drum and bassy printer machine freak-out (or should I say ‘jam,’ hehe): TRY UNPLUGGING IT, AND PLUGGING IT IN AGAIN. Oh yeah, baby. Do it.

But don’t take blondie’s word for it, listen for yourself here. And have a fantastic weekend!

l_f8ece1ef1fc0caa5aabd28d46ca1479fPhoto by Shoebox

3 Responses to “My Favorite Mix of the Month: S.P.E.C.T.R.E.”

  1. Yo Yo!!

    Thanks for posting this mix! I can’t get enough of the ‘Under Mi Sensi’ Remix.
    I’ll definitely be rocking this on the subway this week.

    Heres some for you:
    Boreta – ‘Sike!’
    [audio src="http://www.boreta.net/newmix/boreta-sike!.mp3" /]

    Also a new bassnectar track was just posted yesterday:
    http://bassnectar.libsyn.com/index.php?post_id=445725

    Really dig your blog. Some friends and I have started writing about the crazy glitch and dubstep happenings going on in SF and NYC. (as well as other music and shenanigans.) Is it cool if we post a link to your blog on our links page?

    http://www.earplugsarethenewcondoms.wordpress.com

    Cheers!
    –DJ Rex Manning Day

  2. Hey, since you all seem to be into the underground bass- check out this podcast- diggity dope, no ads’. just raw beats baby, with bi-monthly posts-

    http://www.temporalfusion.com

  3. dancefever5000 Says:

    YES I love Temporal Fusion! Everybody check it out!

Leave a Reply

