RUSKO @ The Roxy: WE AIN’T SCARED OF THIS

p2190024I arrived at The Roxy last night around 11:45 PM, pretty late for what I KNEW a free show and bound to have a huge line. It did. I had heard that Rusko was going on at 1AM, but the bass banging out of the venue sounded super slutty and very familiar. With a line well over one hundred deep, I was certain that there was no way I was getting into the show from the end of the line.

So I cut. I jumped the line and sidled in right up front with a group who had driven an hour and a half to get to the show (and hopefully weren’t quite so drunk on the way). HEY I have a responsibility to report to my readers on the West Coast electronic music scene, and no line is going to stop me from my journalistic duties. Or from dancing my face off to Rusko.

p2190015Turns out the drunk little group I joined had cut in line too; ah well, rules are for other people and other cities anyway. This is LA, baby.

The Roxy must have been at capacity because they were only doing 1 in/1 out, but soon I got the bracelet and went inside.

Sure enough, Rusko was up on stage throwing his signature “hype bass party music” and the crowd down front looked a little nuts, so I headed right that way.

I really like The Roxy! It’s a sweet club with a big dance floor surrounding the stage, bars on the side, and a large raised area in the back for the non-dancers. The sound was decent but could have been louder and there was a major equipment issue with one of the CDJs (as in, it quit working), but Rusko handled it like the rock star that he is. Overall The Roxy has an open feel and a genuine taste of rock and roll and I look forward to going back.

Along my path to the front lines I saw the cruelest sign in the history of humankind: Miller Lite ONLY $9! Wow, seriously? Did you have to put the all-caps on the sign and the exclamation point and everything? Smart-ass bartenders.

p2190041There was no time for grossly overpriced piss-beer however, and I shoved my way to the front and let the music take me. Rukso was GIVING it and the crowd was so thick and so hyphed that the middle of the dance floor was moving as one animal, one rabid frothing screaming jumping humping googly-eyed just-busted-out-of-the-cage-and-now-I-want-to-eat-somebody animal.

Sweat was flinging in the air, beer was flying out of cans, and there was hardly even enough room to smoke a blunt. Hardly ;).The p21900291chick next to me was waving around a cigarette in the middle of the chaos, which was kind of scary, but where could I go? Ah yes, on stage! There’s lots of room up there!

So I jumped right up to dance and was followed by a few more idiots and we got down for real up on stage for a quick minute, but soon the evil-eyed bouncers kicked off the boys and then alas, the girls.

WHEN YOUR SPIRIT IS FLOATING DOWN THAT TUNNEL TOWARDS THE LIGHT

Rusko was having a blast in his neon yellow piped sneakers, acid washed jeans, and the best haircut I have seen all month. I wished I had worn my fluorescent pink fanny pack to go with the vibe. The boy is gorgeous and very expressive with hand gestures, dance moves, and plenty of crowd interaction- my kind of DJ, for real.

DO YOU KNOW WHAT’S BEHIND THE LIGHT?

Rusko loves his music and his crowd; he played track after track of ridiculously wobbly, whompy, grinding bass and we lapped it up and begged for more. This is not the dark droning dubstep played in shithole basement clubs at sausage fests around the country.

IT’S NOT GOD, IT’S ME

Rusko and his label mate Caspa have injected the genre with a cocky energy and swagger, and his dance floor is an intensely fun experience. This dubstep has a virility to it that is new and fresh and raw; it does not ask you to dance but rather grabs you and throws you against the wall and has it’s way with you. And it is good.

AND I’M GONNA KICK YOUR PONCEY SOUL ALL THE WAY BACK DOWN THE TUNNEL ‘TIL YOU CHOKE ON YOUR OWN FUCKED-UP RIBS!

Rusko played for about an hour and finished up with a drum and bass track, leaving me pondering the relationship and future of…drum and bassstep? Dub and bass? Either way it was nasty shit and for almost the entire set I was in the zone of dance transcendence, screaming and jumping and twisting with my arms in the air and my knees grinding down to the floor, and you know what I mean. At least I really, really hope you do. If not, I prescribe a fat dose of UK dubstep taken aurally on  a regular basis in a crowded, sweaty club on the West Coast. You should get the fever in no time.

NOW, WAKE THE FUCK UP!

Vodpod videos no longer available. Vodpod videos no longer available.

Rusko plays the rest of the West Coast in March:

March 18 @ Trinity in Seattle

March 20 @ Harriet St. in San Francisco

March 21 @ Berbati’s Pan in Portland

Read my review of Rusko @ Lot 613 & the Roxy

3 Responses to “RUSKO @ The Roxy: WE AIN’T SCARED OF THIS”

  1. that shit was siiiiiiiick!

    Either way it was nasty shit and for almost the entire set I was in the zone of dance transcendence, screaming and jumping and twisting with my arms in the air and my knees grinding down to the floor, and you know what I mean. At least I really, really hope you do.

    i really do know what ya mean my brotha, i was the same person your talkin about. so much fun!

  2. […] can read my review of the Rusko show at the Roxy in LA last month here. Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)Please leave a comment!Thoughts from London […]

  3. Let’s the party .. ^_^

Leave a Reply

