From the Front Lines: Thursday Night

‘From the Front Lines’ is where I will recap what went down and what went downtown on the streets of Seattle. Last night things were bangin’ and I had a good night- but not too crazy, we have a BIG weekend ahead!

First of all, the rumor floating around last night that KiloWatts will be playing with Bassnectar in Bellingham on Sunday night is WRONG, as Jamie confirmed for me this morning. However he will be in Bellingham on Thursday the 20th with Vibesquad, which will be a giant show and now brings up the dilemma: do I drive to Bellingham on Thursday or stay in town to see my friend Rafael at the Triple Door followed up by the OTT/Phidelity show at Nectar? Decisions, decisions.

Plus there is the option of driving to Bellingham on Sunday to see Bassnectar again. It’s not that far.

So last night my first stop (after Dante’s, what???) was the Crimson C where Hendrik was playing psy-something and a few peeps were really rocking it on the dance floor. I am not the hugest psy-whatever fan but I really was enjoying the music and had a fun dancing to the faster beats. 

Down the road Trinity was going OFF- could have been the $1 shots and no cover they had going on. The drum and bass in the blue room wasn’t doing a whole lot for me but Kreeper was going freaking nuts in the Main Room; I love that guy- he has a great time playing, he has great energy and it just spills out all over the dance floor. And the ladies agree- Trinity was FULL of hot chicks busting it and I got to hang out and dance with my chicas, which is always fun. Girls seem to have more fun than boys, right? Maybe those are just my friends.

Back at Crimson C Aaron Hoyle was playing some weird bassy tracks, kind of freakish and odd which is just how I like things. Around 1AM Noisemaker jumped back on and we all (like all 5 of us) got down proper. He played the new Bassnectar EP with the super-weird Beats Antique Roustabout song; evil carnival music for the bearded lady and three-necked man and shit. I can’t remember which track he was mixing in with it but it was super fucking sweet. Bassnectar on Saturday is going to be so insane. I am so excited. You MUST go to the show. 

I shut down the dance floor at Crimson then popped over to Contour for the one year anniversary of Booty Call where Mamma Zona, Lovevirus and others were STILL celebrating Awggie’s birthday. Naha was spinning mad hard-core, break-core, I-don’t-know-what core beats and we were getting down for a while. I kept trying to leave and then getting sucked back onto the dance floor because the music was so good! This happens A LOT to me. I ran into some fun and unexpected friends which always makes the night more interesting!

OKAY so tonight- BALLS OUT at Rebar! Get out those red, white, and blues! I am so excited for this weekend, and my very good friend and fellow dancing freak Tricia will be in the house (literally) to party with us; she has been in Cali for a while and I am so stoked to see her tonight!

AND YOU! See you on the dance floor,

Shilo

Leave a Reply

