Le Glitch Mob at the El Rey (Review)

Mmm Neon

Sound boards, stage and chandelier

Marty Party

Marty Party

The Glitch Mob

It was a sold-out show Saturday night under the neon lights of the historic El Rey Theatre and the excitement was running high outside the venue, with everyone running around and screaming as they tend to do before a big show. Despite my best efforts it was around 11PM when I arrived and Marty Party was about to go on stage. The venue is classic, old school style with three giant tiered chandeliers hanging in the center of the main floor and a wide balcony above. The Do Lab had built up a sharp wooden stage, made of warm shards, shaped lie a bowl around the front of the room, clawed up like the paw of a monster.

It is a beautiful, majestic venue, an ideal setting for the filthy music that was to come. Marty Party worked the crowd and I wandered around for a while before settling on my spot down by the stage right speaker. Thankfully the promoters had given an eye towards capacity and cut off the limit before the place was obnoxiously crowded, choosing space to dance over a few more tickets sold. From all the dancing freaks, thank you!

The Glitch Mob played a rousing set, which I thought was much better than the one they played last week at Sea of Dreams; more energetic and slapping, harder and cooler. The crowd was pretty loose and two serious fights broke out right by me in the front of the dance floor around the beginning of the show. The fierce stage construction added a rougher element to the party, with tough angles and piercing spears shooting up and around each other, cradling the performers in a bed of spikes.

The Glitch Mob’s sets seem to be more emotive lately than some of their earlier ones. Maybe it’s just me, but I feel a deeper thread of poignancy. Not melancholia, not stoicism…but there is something in their newer tracks that catches my head a bit; moreover it catches my heart. Maybe it’s the feeling of universal soul-ache, or perhaps it’s just the existence of so many musical layers, adding a depth that brings with it profundity. I don’t know. But I like it. And I am totally juiced for the new Glitch Mob album that should be dropping sometime in late Spring; I can’t wait to see what these three guys are going to dish out for us next.

3 Responses to “Le Glitch Mob at the El Rey (Review)”

  1. You write like a poet!

  2. “Thankfully the promoters had given an eye towards capacity and cut off the limit before the place was obnoxiously crowded, choosing space to dance over a few more tickets sold.”

    THIS IS SOMETHING ALL PROMOTERS SHOULD TAKE INTO CONSIDERATION ESPECIALLY WHEN THEY KNOW THEIR EVENT IS GONNA HAVE LINES THAT WRAP AROUND THE VENUE.

    Also, I would like to add to that by saying The Glitch Mob show had one of the fastest moving lines. I actually went through the line got searched then realized and I forgot my wallet. I ran back got my wallet and was back through security in less 2 minutes. Whereas, some shows I’m in line so long I miss more than half the show.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 89 other followers

