Low End Theory: Cherry Popped

So for my first night out in LA I went to ‘Low End Theory’ at this place called the Airliner just north of Chinatown- my kind of place for sure, nice and dark and gritty with a supersweet sound system. Playing? Oh you know, just the MOTHERFUCKING GASLAMP KILLER (apparently a resident DJ there) along with Lipp Service, Eliot’s Lipp’s mad live electronic band, and Bass Science, otherwise known as Steve Nalepa and Matt B. There were some other artists there as well I didn’t know, but I will.

Nalepa is playing at the Rebar in Seattle on January 31 along with Sleepyhead and my good friend Noisemaker; for any of you reading this in Seatown (which is like, ALL of you)- do NOT miss this bass slut show, and that is an order.

Anyway I walked up to the venue and of course started bullshitting with the various freaks out front, one of whom turned out to be the manager of the place, and therefore Shilo drank for free the rest of the night. As if you didn’t know, free vodka is a double-edged sword which must be handled with a delicate touch. The mad amount of talent in this upstairs room on a Wednesday night blew my mind, and had me dancing like the freak I am for hours. Oh yes.

You may have noticed that you don’t get much of a review sometimes out of me, and it is almost always because I had too much fun, and that was the case on my virgin night out in LA. Though I did come here to write for musicians so I will soon be getting my shit together and writing up reviews for real; stay tuned to hear about the STS9 show on Saturday night at the Wiltern. It should be a sweet show and the openers? Some kids named the Glitch Mob. Tonight there’s a little party with Flying Lotus and SamIYam, otherwise known as FlyAmSam. And I also heard talk of a rooftop party with Robot Koch, one-third of one of my favorite musical groups in the world, Jahcoozi. He’s driving down from San Fran in a rent car as I type.

So yeah, I am in heaven and wondering what took me so fucking long to get to the center of the universe. After a week of unsuccessful job and apartment hunting, it was a great slap in the face to remember why I moved here- the music, the music, the music, and the sunshine. I am in the honeymoon phase of moving to a new place, and am skipping around town like a fucking crackhead, dancing to the dubstep which gets stuck in my brain, and driving around with the windows down, all with a stupid, shit-eating grin plastered on my face 24/7

One Response to “Low End Theory: Cherry Popped”

  1. ‘life’s a trip.’ glad you made it out here!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 89 other followers

